Tags

, , ,

It seems like more and more kids are taking ADHD medications. I won’t deny that the drugs make a difference. I can always tell when a diagnosed student of mine has had his medication and when he hasn’t. I can’t always tell, though, whether a child is medicated because he (or she) truly needs it, or because medication makes life easier for his parents or teachers. Indeed, “North Carolina appears to be a hotbed for attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, or ADHD—especially when compared to California. A child who lived in North Carolina instead of California in 2007 … was 2½ times more likely to be diagnosed.” While I don’t disagree that ADHD is a real and potentially debilitating illness, I also don’t like the idea that some kids might be taking drugs they don’t need.

Snow days. Kids love them, but teachers and schools hate them. They’re inconvenient and disruptive, and even when kids are back in school it takes valuable time for their teachers to get them resettled. In an effort to mitigate these issues, more and more schools are putting student assignments online.

Nobody knows how they’ll react in a crisis, but I like to think that if called upon I could handle myself as well as this woman did.

If you’re interested in learning more about the online lives of teenagers, you might find this helpful.

“… just 14 percent of Americans – and only 11 percent of business leaders – strongly agreed that graduates have the necessary skills and competencies to succeed in the workplace.” From Inside Higher Ed and Gallup.

