Tags

And it’s … yet another bullying post. As I prepare for my ASCA certification in this area, I’ve been doing a lot of reading in this area. Unfortunately, that means my Pocket account is chock full of bullying related links and articles.

Cartoon Network and the American Federation of Teachers have partnered together on a bullying campaign. You can find the details here.

I usually focus more on U.S. news than on what’s going on in the rest of the world, but this article from Wales is an interesting read. I’m not sure I agree with the program developer’s thesis that bullies are never happy people (I think it’s too simplistic and overgeneralizes what is, in actuality, a complex issue), but the idea of focusing more on the bully than on the victim has merit. There’s an interesting activity in here that would translate well to classroom guidance lessons here in the states, too.

And from New Zealand, another article with interesting thoughts on bullying which, again, includes what would likely be a useful activity (and one I’d thought of as a possibility myself).

And to round out the post with news from here in the states, GSUSA (Girl Scouts of the U.S.A.) has developed an anti-bullying campaign called Be a Friend First (BFF) designed for use with middle school girls.

